How Long Does It Take to Get a Real Estate License in Utah?
In this guide, we provide information on the time it takes to get a real estate license in Utah.
We share details on how much time you should allot when earning your license as well as maintaining it.
Keep reading as we break down each step in the licensing process with timing estimates so you can better plan for your journey toward this particular career.
Estimated Timeline to Get a Real Estate License in Utah
|1 week||Collect general information.|
|3 weeks-2 months||Complete pre-licensing education.|
|1 day||Schedule the exam.|
|1 day||Get fingerprinted.|
|1 day||Take the exam.|
|4-6+ weeks||Submit license application for review.|
|1-6 weeks||Complete continuing education classes.|
Collect General Information: 1 Week
A great deal of planning and preparation goes into getting your real estate license in Utah, so before you begin any work, it’s best to research the entire process.
The Division of Real Estate page on the Utah Commerce website is a perfect place to start. Here you’ll find basic requirements as well as answers to frequently asked questions.
Review the qualifications for the specific type of real estate license you’re interested in getting, then start organizing your own timeline to complete the licensing process.
Having a plan and knowing what’s ahead can make the entire experience less stressful.
Complete Pre-Licensing Education: 3 Weeks-2 Months
How long should you study for the real estate exam? Even though the curriculum is different for either a sales agent or broker license, the total required pre-licensing education hours are the same — 120.
The course breakdown for a sales agent license includes:
- 12 hours of Ownership of Real Estate
- 12 hours of Real Estate Brokerage and the Law of Agency
- 16 hours of Contracts
- 4 hours of Property Management
- 8 hours of Settlement
- 2 hours of Federal Taxation
- 16 hours of Real Estate Finance
- 6 hours of Valuation and Appraisal
- 2 hours of New Construction
- 4 hours of Math Skills
- 6 hours of Federal Laws
- 24 hours of Utah Law
The course breakdown for a broker license includes:
- 30 hours of Utah Law
- 45 hours of Broker Principles
- 45 hours of Broker Practices
Although you must complete the pre-licensing education within a year of applying for your license, the speed at which you finish the classes may vary.
Format plays a part in this, since often you can work faster if you’re taking a self-paced, online course.
With this format, if you can devote 40 hours per week to the work, you could be done in as little as three weeks.
An in-person format will take longer since it’s not self-paced, but the regularity of the schedule often helps those with other commitments.
To decide which format is right for you, make sure to look at the pros and cons of real estate classes online vs. traditional classroom courses.
Schedule the Real Estate License Exam: 1 Day
Once you’ve passed your pre-licensing coursework, you’re able to schedule your license exam. The test is administered by Pearson VUE.
To schedule your exam, you can set up an account online, or call 800-274-7292. Reservations must be made at least 24 hours in advance. The exam fee is $59.
Availability varies, but it is possible to get a testing time within the same week you call, so make sure you’ve put in some time studying and are ready.
Get Fingerprinted: 1 Day
After you’ve scheduled your exam, it’s a good idea to also set up an appointment for your fingerprints. This is a required part of your license application.
What’s convenient is that you can schedule your fingerprinting with Pearson VUE and have everything done the day of the exam. The onsite fingerprinting fee is $12.
However, only people with fingerprint appointments will be seen at a Pearson VUE testing location.
If you’re unable to get your appointments to coincide, you can get your fingerprints done through a private vendor and submit a fingerprint card with your application.
This information is then used to run your background check during your application review.
Having a criminal record may or may not prevent you from acquiring a license in the state. Read our tips for applying for a Utah real estate license with criminal record or misdemeanor.
Take the Exam: 1 Day
Make sure to arrive 30 minutes before your exam time to check in. Bring two forms of identification with you that have your signature and aren’t expired.
One form of ID must also include your photo.
You’re given four hours to complete the entire exam, which is broken into two parts — general and state.
The general section includes 85 questions no matter what type of license you’re getting. Five of those questions won’t be scored, but you won’t know which they are.
For the sales agent test, the state section consists of 50 scored questions, while the broker state section has 90. Both add 5-10 non-scored questions as well.
To pass the sales agent exam, you need a minimum score of 70. For the broker exam, the minimum score is 75.
If you fail only one section of the exam, you have six months to retake it as many times as you need to pass it. After that, you’ll have to retake both sections again.
The retake fee is the same as the initial testing fee of $59.
Avoid retakes and the time it takes to complete this part of the process by reading our guide on how to study for the Utah real estate exam.
Submit License Application for Review: 4-6+ Weeks
When you complete your real estate license exam, you’ll receive a score report marked pass or fail. If you pass, you’ll also receive instructions on how to apply for your license.
If you’ve already scheduled your fingerprinting at your testing site, you’ll complete this step now.
To submit a complete application, you’ll need to include:
- Application document
- Qualifying questionnaire
- Consent to background check document
- Certification of legal presence
All of these are presented to you while you’re still at the Pearson VUE testing center.
In addition, you’ll need to submit a candidate education certifying document issued by your real estate school, and you’ll need to pay the $112 application fee.
To start the application process, create an online account with the Utah Division of Real Estate.
You have 90 days from when you pass your exam to get your application submitted. The review process can take up to six weeks.
Complete Continuing Education Classes: 1-6 Weeks
Once you get your real estate license, it’s good for two years. You’ll then have to renew it by completing continuing education requirements and paying a fee.
Real estate agents in Utah will have to spend $60 to renew their license, while brokers have to shell out $66.
You must renew on or before your license’s expiration date, but you must complete your continuing education requirement by the 15th day of your renewal month.
There are 18 required continuing education hours for both agents and brokers unless you’re in the first two years of an active license. For those agents, there’s an extra requirement.
The base 18 hours is completed through a combination of core topics and electives, but at least nine hours must be in core topic courses.
Within those nine hours, three will be in a Division-approved, mandatory course.
For new agents, an extra 15 hours of continuing education are required. Twelve of those hours are in a new agent course, and the other three must be in a course that’s Division-approved.
You’ll also have to spend time getting fingerprints again to complete your renewal, only you’ll have to go to a Utah fingerprinting facility this time instead of a Pearson VUE testing site.
Where to Study for a Real Estate License Exam?
Even with all the steps in the real estate license process broken out, there’s still one more time-consuming element to think about — studying.
Your pre-licensing education hours must be completed at one of the accredited real estate schools in Utah, and all classes include time for testing and review.
The real estate license exam in Utah isn’t easy, and taking notes in your pre-licensing classes will only prepare you so much. Outside study time helps round out what you need to know.
Your class notes are, however, a great place to start. Use that information to make outlines and flashcards to review.
Compare your notes to the exam outlines you can find in the Pearson VUE Candidate Handbook, which should also list additional study resources.
Study independently in a quiet place, where you can keep distractions to a minimum, and supplement that work by forming a study group with some fellow classmates.
Combining a variety of study tools with different study methods can help you prepare more effectively, getting you ready to pass the real estate exam on your first try.
Knowing all the information needed to get a real estate license in Utah will speed up the process for you.
Once you know the time it takes to complete all the requirements, you can then turn your attention to knowing how much a real estate license in Utah is.
This way, you’d be able to effectively budget for all the expenses associated with getting licensed.
When you get your license, you will have to gear up for a busy career ahead. Before that, you need to have your license activated.
The way to do that is to get sponsored by a licensed real estate broker in the state. Pick one from our comprehensive database of the best real estate brokerage firms in Utah.
Make sure to review our guide on how to choose a real estate broker to work for as a new agent to select the most suitable real estate company to help jumpstart your career.
As you start your career, be a step ahead by utilizing the following resources:
- I Just Got My Real Estate License, Now What?
- What Are the Pros and Cons of Being a Real Estate Agent as a Career?
- Ultimate Guide to Joining a Real Estate Team
It’s designed to help you get more exposure for your business, including receiving leads. Create a free profile by signing up here.
If you want to contribute your expert advice on a topic of your expertise, feel free to apply to our Expert Contributor Program.