How to Get a Real Estate License in Kansas
If your dream is to start or get ahead in your Kansas real estate career, this is the how-to guide for you.
It spells out requirements and full details of the licensure process all in one place for your quick and easy reference.
So, continue reading for information that will help you take your first or next step.
Kansas Real Estate License Requirements for Salespeople
Not everyone can obtain a Kansas real estate salesperson’s license. The state has specific eligibility criteria applicants must meet.
You must be a legal adult (18 or older). The minimum education level is a high school diploma or comparable equivalent.
You must not have been convicted of certain felonies within a specific timeframe. The particular offenses are detailed in Kansas law (K.S.A. 58-3043).
Eligible individuals must also satisfy all Kansas licensing requirements, with one exception to that general rule.
Applicants with a salesperson’s license in another state can get credit for some requirements they have already met.
We’ll shed more light on this in the reciprocity section of this article.
Here are the generally applicable licensing requirements:
- Criminal background check
- Pre-licensing education
- Salesperson licensing exam
- Affiliation with a broker
Every applicant must undergo a background check. Being fingerprinted is part of that process.
Your prints will be used by the Kansas Bureau of Investigation and the FBI to perform records searches against their criminal databases.
The pre-licensing education requirement consists of two 30-hour courses approved by the Kansas Real Estate Commission.
You can take them in the classroom or online. One of the courses provides the foundation knowledge necessary for passing the exam.
The other teaches you the practices and policies pertinent to the daily life of a Kansas real estate salesperson.
Keep timing for the exam and the application in mind when taking the courses. You have 12 months following completion of the Principles Course to take the exam.
Applying for your license, on the other hand, must be done within six months of finishing the Practice Course.
You can take the exam as soon as you’ve completed the Principles Course. You don’t have to wait until you’ve taken the Practice Course to accomplish this.
Walk-ins are not accepted for the exam. You must register with the administrator Pearson VUE and reserve an exam date and time.
You must pass the entire exam, which is made up of a national and a state portion. Four hours are allotted for the test.
Most of that time (2.5 hours) is reserved for the national section, which tests your general real estate knowledge. It has 80 questions.
The Kansas portion has 30 questions covering state law related to the following:
- Commission duties and powers
- Licensing requirements
- Licensee activities
- Prohibited acts
- Brokerage relationships
Your score is reported on a scale of 0-100. The minimum passing score is 70 for each section.
This number does not represent how many or what percentage of questions you answered right.
It’s a scaled score, a raw score that has been converted into a standardized scale.
You’ll only see your numeric score if you failed. You’ll also receive diagnostic information and instructions for retaking the exam.
If you earned a passing score, your report would be marked “pass.” If you pass, you’ll receive information for submitting your application.
The last requirement you’ll need to meet before applying for your license is finding a broker. An original Kansas real estate license can’t be issued unless you do.
Your choice of a broker can have a significant impact on your budding career.
To learn more about points to consider, read our guide on choosing the right real estate brokerage to work for as a new agent.
Once you’ve selected a sponsoring broker and given that you’ve completed all the other requirements, you’re ready to file your license application.
Kansas Real Estate License Requirements for Brokers
The age eligibility for obtaining a Kansas broker license is 18 and older.
You must have graduated high school or have a credential that shows you have a 12th-grade knowledge base.
You must clear a background check, too. The state bureau of investigation will perform a criminal records check. So will the FBI.
You’re required to be fingerprinted specifically for this purpose.
An experience requirement applies to broker applicants as well. It uses a combination of time in the profession and a point system.
If you’re one of the licensed real estate agents in Kansas who have been actively engaged in activities requiring a real estate license for at least two of the last three years, you’ve satisfied the first part.
The second part is meeting the required number of transaction points. You get points for closed transactions, which must have taken place in the prior three years.
Commission staff are authorized to approve your application and grant an unrestricted license if you have been:
- Licensed for three years or more with 30 or more points.
- Licensed for two years or more with 40 or more points.
If you’ve held a license for two-plus years and have 20-39 points, you would be granted a restricted license. You would not be allowed to supervise licensees.
To get the restriction lifted, you’d need to file a petition and present new experience, education, or both.
Note that the staff will forward your application to Commission members if you don’t meet any of the previously listed criteria.
The members will evaluate the information and decide whether to deny or approve your application with or without restrictions.
The Commission may also accept related business experience or a combination of such experience and education as qualifications.
You’ll find a list of activities they will consider in their step-by-step guide to obtaining a broker license.
You should also know that you must meet the experience requirement even if you are already licensed in another state and applying for a Kansas broker license.
Pre-licensing education and the exam are the subsequent requirements to be met by salespeople applying to become real estate brokers.
There are some exemptions if you’re an out-of-state licensee (see Reciprocal States for more information).
Otherwise, 60 hours of Commission-approved pre-licensing education is mandatory.
Once you complete the two 30-hour courses, you must pass both portions of the broker exam. You need a scaled score of 70 on each portion to pass.
The national part consists of 80 questions, including eight on math calculations. The state section has 40 questions.
After you’ve passed the exam and are applying for your license, you need to be sure to:
What Is Real Estate License Reciprocity?
Some applicants have already met the requirements for obtaining a license in another jurisdiction.
If that’s the case for you, your previous education and experience can count toward getting a Kansas real estate license.
Kansas doesn’t streamline the process through written reciprocity agreements.
But, as a recognition policy, it exempts out-of-state licensees from some requirements for first-timers.
The 30-hour Principles Course is waived for those holding a current, active salesperson’s license elsewhere. So is the national portion of the exam.
Both these waivers depend on the applicant having completed a course and exam in a jurisdiction with equivalent standards.
The rest of the items required for salesperson applicants still apply and are listed below.
- A state and federal background check
- Real Estate Practice course (30 hours)
- Passing score on the Kansas portion of the exam
- Application signed by a supervising broker
If you’re an out-of-state broker, you don’t have to take the pre-licensing course on broker fundamentals.
However, you must meet the same experience requirements as those applying for their first broker license. In addition, it’s mandatory that you:
- Complete a 30-hour broker management course and 4 hours on broker law.
- Take and pass the state-specific portion of the licensing exam.
- Complete and clear a state and federal background check.
Also, you must apply for a waiver for the national portion of the exam and submit a license history from all applicable states with your application, whether you are an agent or a broker.
US States Having a Reciprocal Agreement with Kansas
Kansas does not have formal agreements with other states. However, some requirements met by out-of-state licensees are accepted for Kansas licensure.
How to Study for a Real Estate License Exam in Kansas
Pre-Licensing Classroom Courses
Classroom courses for salespeople are offered in several cities throughout the state. Options for in-person broker courses are concentrated in major cities.
You can refer to our list of top real estate schools in Kansas to find schools serving your location.
Some schools also have live-streamed courses, which give traditional learners the benefit of real-time, instructor-led classes when locations are not convenient.
Evening classes are available, as well as those held during the day.
Don’t be surprised, though, if you find a night class or two intermixed with a predominantly daytime schedule.
Also, a few providers have hybrid models that combine in-person or Zoom classes with flexible home study.
As for what you’ll learn, salesperson applicants are immersed in content areas that include the ones below.
- Real estate law
- Ownership types
- Finance and closing
- Liens and encumbrances
- Legal descriptions
Aspiring brokers get a review of real estate fundamentals in the 30-hour pre-licensing course.
The 30-hour broker management course provides a deep dive into broker responsibilities.
Pre-Licensing Online Courses
The Commission also allows you to satisfy the pre-licensing education requirement via an internet-based format.
This option will enable you to work around a fixed job schedule and be less disruptive when juggling family obligations.
You can choose an education provider that operates solely online. Or, you can take an online class from a real estate school with a physical location.
No matter which provider you choose, online courses offer anywhere, anytime, any-paced learning.
They also tend to be more budget-friendly than classroom courses.
However, online learning may present some challenges if you do better in a collaborative learning environment. You could also struggle if you’re a chronic procrastinator.
Check out our article that shares expert insights on the differences between real estate classes online and classroom courses to make a more informed choice.
As you choose, be sure to stick to the list of approved schools, so that your time and hard work will count.
While you’re at it, be sure to read our guide on how to pass the real estate exam the first time.
This will allow you to take advantage of expert tips on studying properly for this important test.
Where to Take the Real Estate Exam in Kansas
The licensing exam is given in person and by appointment only. An online reservation is the most efficient way to schedule a date and time.
You must take the exam at one of the designated testing locations. Pearson VUE has professional test centers in the cities listed below.
- Overland Park
- Kansas City (MO)
These centers offer a minimum of two exam sessions each Saturday and at least two weekday sessions.
Exams are also given at other testing sites throughout Kansas. Locations and schedules are subject to change.
How to File for Your License After the Exam in Kansas
You’ll get application documents and instructions for applying for your license from Pearson VUE right after you pass the exam.
You must file your application within a six-month time window, preferably by email or fax.
The time window begins on the date you pass the exam or the issuance date of your earliest document (e.g., course certificate, background check report).
If you pass each portion of the exam on different days, the clock starts with the earlier date.
The Commission will consider your application incomplete if any of the required documents are no longer valid.
See page 3 of the Candidate Handbook for the exam for a list of documents that are valid for six months.
Also, note that if you are getting a salesperson’s license or will be an associate broker, your application must be signed by a supervising or branch broker.
If you’re licensed out of state, you must include an official history from each jurisdiction where you’ve been licensed.
How to Receive Your Real Estate License in Kansas
The Commission does not mail wall licenses or pocket cards. Electronic pocket cards are emailed to licensees. License verification information is also available on the Commission website.
Supervising and branch brokers can print the online information, display it electronically, or request that the Commission email or fax the office’s details to them.
With your license, you’re now ready to practice your real estate profession in Kansas.
Our detailed article on what happens after you get your real estate license walks you through the actions to keep in mind when starting out as a real estate agent.
Learning from experienced agents is also a must to gain expert knowledge about the industry. Joining a real estate team can make this possible for you.
How long does it take to get a Kansas real estate license when studying in the class?
Be prepared to spend two to three weeks going to daytime classes. Double that time if you are completing your coursework in the evenings.
The licensing exam will take half a day. However, you’ll need to build in wait time based on how long it takes to get an appointment.
According to the test administrator, you can typically get scheduled within seven days. You may want to add a few more days just in case space is limited.
Fingerprinting services are usually offered by appointment only. Allow at least a week to book one.
The average processing time for the background check is about two weeks.
Reserve a day’s time to pull together all of the documents you need to submit with your license application.
If you’re applying for a broker’s license, that might take a couple more days, as you’ll need detailed transaction information to complete the experience forms.
Once you’ve submitted your application, you’ll need to wait on the Commission’s response.
How long does it take to get a Kansas real estate license online?
When taking your coursework online, you can reduce the amount of time it takes to get your license, depending on how fast you set your pace.
If you’re a quick learner who can clock in 30 hours per week, you’ll finish the salesperson or broker course in a couple of weeks.
Following that, add in time for the things that come after you finish your classes.
- At least a 7-day lead time for your exam appointment
- One day reserved as exam day, including travel time
- Five to seven days for fingerprint scheduling and submission
- Two weeks for criminal records checks
- One to three days to gather application documents
Is there a background check for a Kansas real estate license?
You’re required to submit your fingerprints to be used for a criminal background check.
You may be fingerprinted at your local law enforcement agency or one of the authorized printing entities.
You can request a fingerprint kit from the Commission or pick one up at the exam test center. Your completed fingerprint card must be mailed to the Commission.
You must also submit a waiver form that authorizes criminal records checks by the state and federal bureaus of investigation (KBI and FBI).
It takes about two weeks for the Commission to receive the background reports. You’ll get an email when they are completed.
Your reports are valid for six months from the date of issue.
How much does a Kansas real estate license cost?
Look to invest at least $500 to obtain your salesperson’s license. Brokers can expect a price tag of $700 or more.
Costs will vary based on factors like whether you do in-person or online courses, take an exam prep course, or have to take the licensing exam more than once.
Here’s a breakdown of what goes into those figures:
- On average, salesperson coursework will run from $250 to $450.
- Broker courses cost in the neighborhood of $400 to $500.
- Application fees for salespeople and brokers are $15 and $50.
- The exam fee is $82 regardless of license type.
- Both licenses require a background check, which is $60.
- Brokers pay a licensing fee of $175.
- The salesperson license fee is $125.
Get more information about licensing expenses in the state by reading our article – How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Kansas?
How long do you have to wait to retake the real estate exam in Kansas?
Pearson VUE asks that you wait 24 hours before contacting them about a retake. They indicate that they can typically schedule a reservation within seven days.
They also ask that you have your failing score available when you contact them.
How many times can you retake the Kansas real estate exam?
If you fail the exam, you’ll get as many additional retakes as you need.
You will have to watch the calendar, though, as you need to pass both portions before your six-month window to apply for your license is up.
Do you have to pay to retake the real estate exam in Kansas?
Yes, Kansas charges a fee when retaking the exam.
How much does it cost to retake the real estate exam in Kansas?
Applicants who retake the exam must pay $75 each time.
Can you get a real estate license with a felony in Kansas?
Kansas has specific rules about when you can apply for an original real estate license if you have a criminal felony record.
Individuals convicted of an offense that requires registration under the Kansas Offender Act are barred from licensure for at least 15 years following completion of sentencing requirements.
Those convicted of other types of felonies must wait at least five years to apply.
While the Commission has the discretion to grant a license after the required period has elapsed, the felony may still influence the decision.
Kansas law lists factors the Commission considers when reviewing an applicant with a felony.
Based on those factors, an application may be denied, approved, or approved with restrictions.
When you submit your application, you must provide a written explanation of the circumstances surrounding the offense and any restitution.
Also, the burden is on you to show why the Commission should issue a license.
If you’re getting a salesperson or associate broker license, you must also provide a letter from your supervising broker indicating they are aware of the offenses and willing to sponsor you.
The Commission also encourages applicants to submit letters of recommendation or reference.
Can you get a real estate license with a misdemeanor in Kansas?
You could be granted a license, but it may be restricted or conditioned.
For example, you might be limited to a particular type of transaction or required to file a surety bond.
You must present the Commission with satisfactory evidence that you are honest, trustworthy, and capable of conducting business in a way that protects the interest of the public.
They consider factors such as the nature of the offense, any extenuating circumstances, time passed since the conviction, and so forth.
Details are listed in Kansas statutes.
Be prepared to respond in a timely manner if the Commission requests court documents.
They also accept letters of reference or recommendation that speak to character or competence.
Will a DUI prevent you from getting a real estate license in Kansas?
Driving under the influence is a criminal offense. Based on the situation, it can be a felony or a misdemeanor.
So, while you may get a real estate license if you have a DUI, the nature and gravity of the offense can impact when you can apply and the Commission’s decision.
The Commission requires you to submit a letter with your application explaining the circumstances that led to the offense.
You must also present your case for being granted a license despite your DUI conviction.
Can I get a real estate license without a high school diploma in Kansas?
You need a high school diploma or equivalent credential at a minimum to be eligible to obtain a real estate license in Kansas.
We hope this article helps you in getting your Kansas real estate license in no time.
To know what makes this job worthy as a career, check out our article on the benefits of being a real estate agent.
It’s designed to help you get more exposure for your business, including receiving leads. Create a free profile by signing up here.
If you want to contribute your expert advice on a topic of your expertise, feel free to apply to our Expert Contributor Program.