How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Nevada?
How much is a real estate license in Nevada? From fingerprints to real estate classes, things add up fast. You have to start making a budget to meet all the necessary costs involved.
We’ve gathered all the information right here to give you a complete picture of the total financial investment a Nevada real estate license requires. Keep reading to learn more.
Getting Your License
Pre-Licensing Coursework: $250+
The entire real estate licensing process begins in the classroom. Whether it’s a virtual or an in-person course, there is a pre-licensing coursework requirement.
For a salesperson license, you’ll need to complete 120 hours of pre-licensing education, which breaks down to include:
- 45 hours of Real Estate Principles
- 45 hours of Real Estate Law, with 18 of those hours focusing on Nevada Law
- 15 hours of Contracts
- 15 hours of Agency, with three hours in the foundation of the relationship between broker and agents, and three hours of risk reduction
You can browse our list of accredited real estate schools in Nevada where you can complete your pre-licensing education.
From here, you’ll be able to decide if you want to take online classes or complete the requirement in an actual classroom.
Often, online classes are less expensive than ones conducted in a classroom. They also tend to offer more flexibility for the learner.
If you can’t decide which method of instruction will work for you, read our article comparing real estate classes online vs. classroom courses.
Requirements for a broker license break out a little differently in Nevada. Instead of focusing on the number of hours you must complete, coursework is listed by college credit.
You’ll need 64 college credits to meet the requirement in various courses such as:
- Real Estate Principles
- Real Estate Law
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Broker Management
Should you need to calculate these requirements in hours, instead of college credits, you can do so by using the Nevada Real Estate Division’s Broker Requirements document.
You may be able to count previous experience toward these credits as well, reducing the cost of your pre-licensing coursework, and the time you’ll have to spend in the classroom.
Once coursework is completed, you’ll also need to get your fingerprints done and sent off. Nevada provides a list of approved vendors to collect this information from you.
The cost is around $65 and is so high since $40 of that will go toward your background check through the FBI.
Exam Fee: $100
Pearson VUE proctors the real estate exam in Nevada. The cost to take the exam is $100 no matter the license type.
You can register for the exam online or call Pearson VUE at 888-248-8055. Make a reservation at least 24 hours in advance of your test date.
On the day of your exam, make sure to arrive 30 minutes early to check in.
You’ll also need to bring proper identification which consists of two forms of signature ID. One must be government-issued and have your picture on it.
Before you call the testing center for your schedule, you have to be fully prepared to ensure that you pass the exam on your first try.
We’ve got you covered with our tips on studying for the real estate exam from one of our experts, Kristina Morales.
Exam Retake: $100
Immediately after you finish the real estate licensing exam in Nevada, you’ll get a score report marked ‘pass’ or ‘fail’. Should you fail, you’ll need to retake.
The report will let you know if you’ve failed one or both parts of the exam. You only need to retake what you didn’t pass, although the fee is the same regardless.
You’ll pay $100 whether retaking one or both sections. If you’re only retaking one, you have a year to pass it before having to retake the entire test again.
To schedule a retake, contact Pearson VUE and make an appointment. You must wait 24 hours after failing the exam to set up your next attempt.
License Application: $140 for Salesperson; $160 for Broker
After passing the exam, you’ll need to submit a license application. The fee for a real estate license in Nevada varies by type. For a salesperson license, the fee is $140.
Those getting a broker license must pay $160, and have two years of active, full-time experience within the prior four years from the application date.
Once you get your license, you need to complete all other requirements for getting a real estate license in Nevada.
Among the prerequisites to be able to start working as an agent is finding a sponsoring broker.
Check out our article on how to pick a broker to work for to know which type of firm is best for you.
Then, browse our directory of top real estate brokerage firms to choose one you can work with.
Maintaining Your License
First Year Renewal: $195+
The first time you renew your real estate license in Nevada, you must pay the renewal fee and complete 36 hours of post-licensing coursework.
The renewal fee itself is $195, but expect to pay about $100 over that for your post-license coursework.
The post-licensing coursework breaks down to:
- 3 hours of Agency
- 6 hours of Contracts
- 3 hours of Ethics
- 3 hours of Law & Legislation
- 3 hours of Risk Reduction
- 18 hours of general course work
After this, your license is good for two years.
For each renewal period, Nevada real estate agents must again complete 36 hours of post-license coursework, in the same categories, and pay the $195 fee.
How to Reduce Real Estate License Education Costs
Luckily, the Nevada real estate licensing process has very few costs associated with it compared to other states.
However, if the total seems a bit too much to budget for, you may have options to cut education costs down, including:
- Buying a course package from one of the approved real estate schools. These combine the course with additional materials that could end up being less expensive as a unit.
- Sticking with online courses as much as possible. Working in this environment can mean less instructor time, which may end up being cheaper than going fully in person.
- Preparing for the exam as best you can in order to increase your chances of passing it the first time. No retake costs are a huge money saver.
Approaching the real estate license application diligently and effectively can help shave dollars off the total cost by creating a more efficient process for yourself.
Once you’ve set aside a good budget for your license application, you can then move on to other activities to be mentally prepared for your job as a real estate agent in Nevada.
You can start by learning the pros and cons of being a real estate agent so you can face the challenges of the job head on.
Create a fool-proof plan that details what to do next after passing the real estate exam. The first steps you take are crucial to establishing a successful real estate practice.
If you want to learn from experienced agents, consider being a part of a real estate team. To get into one, read our article — How to Join a Real Estate Team.
You should also contemplate on how you can effectively promote your real estate business. The industry is very competitive, so you must consider all the options available to set yourself apart.
One option is checking out free online platforms that allow your business to be widely visible and accessible to more clients.
It’s designed to help you get more exposure for your business, including receiving leads. Create a free profile by signing up here.
If you want to contribute your expert advice on a topic of your expertise, feel free to apply to our Expert Contributor Program.