How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Kansas?
This article helps you budget out each step of getting licensed to start your real estate career in Kansas.
So that you get a complete picture, we break down expenses you can expect to incur when getting a license in Kansas. We also provide details on recurring costs for keeping it active.
Ready to see how much you may need to save up and what factors impact that number? Pull out your budget planner and use this information to calculate your investment.
Acquiring Your License
Pre-Licensing Coursework: $200+ for Salesperson; $300+ for Broker
Before issuing you a license, the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC) wants to be sure you gain the competencies needed to practice real estate.
Accordingly, one of the requirements is pre-licensing education.
To become a salesperson, you need a total of 60 classroom hours. One 30-hour course covers the basics of real estate. This must be completed before taking the exam.
The second course is state-specific information on the day-to-day work of a real estate agent. You don’t have to complete it before the exam. You can’t apply for a license, though, until you do.
Brokers must take 60 hours of coursework, too. That’s two 30-hour courses as follows:
- Broker Fundamentals – a review of real estate principles
- Broker Management – in-depth coverage of broker responsibilities
In-person courses are available. You can go to class online as well, if it works better for you. Either way, you must take accredited real estate courses in Kansas to count.
You can find an online salesperson package with both courses for as little as $200. In-person classes can run as high as $450. Broker courses can be a $300 to $500 investment.
If you want to know which method suits you best, read our article on the pros and cons of real estate classes online vs. traditional classroom courses.
Exam Prep Course: $75+
You don’t have to do exam prep. However, if you enroll in individual courses or your education package doesn’t include separate prep for the test, you may opt for additional help.
Online prep courses are easy to come by. You can choose between those tailored to the national portion of the exam, the Kansas-specific section, or both.
A $75 price tag will get you access to study lessons and practice exams for one portion of the exam. Expect to pay at least $100 to prep for both parts.
There are also premium options that will cost you around $120. These include vocabulary worksheets and digital flashcards.
Fingerprinting/Background Check: $75+ for Salesperson; $110+ for Broker
Those getting a Kansas real estate license must undergo a background check. It’s conducted by the Kansas Bureau of Investigation and the FBI. Fingerprinting is required to complete this.
A law enforcement agency or state-authorized vendor must take your fingerprints. The exam proctor Pearson VUE offers this service at their Overland Park, Topeka, and Wichita centers.
You will need to submit your fingerprint cards or digital submission and a Background Waiver Form to the KREC to start the process. You’ll also have to pay the following:
- $15 application fee for agents
- $50 application fee for brokers
- $60 for the criminal history records check
An appointment and fee may also be required for fingerprinting. Pearson VUE charges $16. Scheduling is based on availability, which may not coincide with your exam appointment.
For more information, read our guide on getting a real estate license in Kansas with violations on your record.
Exam Fee: $82
Whether you’re a salesperson or broker candidate, you’ll pay the same amount to take the exam. The fee is $82.
You must register and remit payment in advance. Walk-in exams are not available. Registering online is typically the fastest method. You can usually get a reservation within seven days.
To ensure all goes well on test day, familiarize yourself with the requirements and procedures. You’ll find details in the Pearson VUE Candidate Handbook for the exam.
Pay close attention to the instructions for arrival and check-in, including what documents you must bring to be admitted to the test. Use the exam content outline to help you study.
For the topics covered in the test, refer to our guide on what to study for the Kansas real estate exam.
Exam Retake: $75
You need a scaled score of at least 70 on the national and state portions of the salesperson exam to pass it. The same is true for the broker exam.
You’ll get your score report as soon as you finish the test. So, you’ll know right then whether you passed. If you have to retest, the good news is you only have to retake the portion you failed.
Pearson VUE requires that you wait 24 hours after a failed result before contacting them to schedule a retake. When you do, you’ll have to pay another registration fee.
Unlike many states that charge the same fee for an initial exam and a retake, Kansas gives you a modest price break. The retake fee is $75 versus $82 for your first attempt.
To avoid retakes, read our tips on passing the real estate exam the first time.
License Application: $125 for Salesperson; $175+ for Broker
After passing the exam, you’re ready to file for your license. If you have become affiliated with a sponsoring broker, that is.
Unless you’re becoming a broker and opening a primary or branch office, the KREC requires that you have a state-licensed sponsoring broker sign your application.
If you’re just starting in the profession, know that there are big differences among firms.
Read our article on choosing the right broker to work for as a new agent for helpful tips on finding the right fit for you.
You can then pick one from our directory of the best real estate brokerages in Kansas.
Once you do, you can apply and pay the $125 salesperson license fee. Brokers pay $175. Brokers who plan to hold their own license must submit an additional $100 open office fee.
Keeping Your License Active
Continuing Education Courses: $90-$150 per Renewal
Your real estate education will continue throughout your career in the profession. So, you need to be prepared to invest in coursework on an ongoing basis to keep your license current.
Kansas real estate agents can take more continuing education than the state requires. At a minimum, they must complete 12 hours of KREC-approved courses every two-year renewal period.
That coursework breaks down as follows:
- At least three hours in a required core course
- Up to nine hours of training in elective topics
Your total cost will vary based on how many courses you take. You can usually find an online 12-hour package for $90 to $100. In-person and separate classes typically cost more.
License Renewal: $125 for Salesperson; $175 for Broker
When you initially get your license, the fee that you pay covers two years. After that, you’ll need to renew every subsequent two years to keep your license active.
If you renew on time, you’ll pay $125 as a salesperson and $175 as a broker. If you miss your deadline, you get a grace period of six months.
Renewal after this period will cost you an extra $100.
How to Reduce Real Estate License Education Costs
Pre-licensing and continuing education costs make up a large chunk of your financial investment in being licensed in Kansas. Here are a few ways to spend less:
- Study online. One benefit you’ll generally get when taking online courses is paying less than you would for in-person learning.
- Purchase a package. When providers bundle courses, they often offer a discount over their à la carte pricing.
- Use promo codes. Some online providers have sales promotions. Check for a discount code to score savings.
- Write it off. As a requirement for licensing, continuing education generally qualifies as a tax deduction. Confirm with your CPA and use all write-offs.
- Snag a membership discount. If you’re upgrading to a broker’s license and are currently a Realtor, you can get a break on the cost of continuing education courses.
On top of knowing the financial commitment involved, be sure to learn about the time it takes to complete the licensing process by reading our guide on how long it takes to get a real estate license in Kansas.
After obtaining your license, make sure you get started on the right foot. Accelerate your career by taking necessary actions on what to do after you get your real estate license.
This may include getting expert insight on the pros and cons of being a real estate agent.
Being a part of a real estate team can also help you meet experienced agents who can guide your career. We have an article detailing the steps you need to know when joining a real estate team.
As a new agent, you need to gain invaluable visibility and be eligible to receive leads.
It’s designed to help you get more exposure for your business, including receiving leads. Create a free profile by signing up here.
If you want to contribute your expert advice on a topic of your expertise, feel free to apply to our Expert Contributor Program.
About the Author
Kristina Morales is a REALTOR® with over 20 years of professional experience. She actively practices real estate in Ohio but also has practiced real estate in California and Texas. Conducting her real estate business in three states has allowed her to gain unique experiences that make her a well-rounded realtor. She obtained her Bachelor of Arts in Business Management and her MBA with a concentration in Banking and Finance. Prior to real estate, Kristina had an extensive corporate career in banking and treasury. She ended her finance career as an Assistant Treasurer at a publicly traded oil & gas company in Houston, TX.