2 Parts

How to Get Your Real Estate License in Wyoming?

Share With Friends:

Getting a real estate license in Wyoming is easier once you know what to do. That’s why we put together this all-encompassing guide.

It explains what it takes to become a licensed salesperson or broker in the state, detailing qualifications and requirements and walking you through pertinent information about steps in the process.

Continue reading to explore everything you need to know.

How to Get a Real Estate License in Wyoming

Wyoming Real Estate License Requirements for Salespeople

Qualifications for an initial real estate salesperson license in Wyoming include completing state-approved pre-licensing education.

The Wyoming Real Estate Commission breaks this classwork into three courses:

  • Salesperson I — Introduces you to real estate principles, terminology, and law
  • Salesperson II — Provides more in-depth and practical coverage of real estate practice
  • Wyoming Law — Covers Commission powers, licensing requirements, and other topics

Due to the content needed for the exam and effective practice in the industry, the Commission recommends that the three courses be at least 68 hours, with most (40 hours) on the basics.

Once you have passed all the courses, you can take the exam, which is another licensing requirement.

You must register with Pearson VUE, the exam administrator, and be 18 or older by the time you sit for the two portions of the test.

The national part focuses on your general real estate knowledge, while the state section specifically covers Wyoming real estate laws.

The passing score is 75 or higher (on a scale of 0 to 100) on each part.

You are also required to submit to and pass a criminal background check. This screening includes submitting fingerprints for a criminal records search at the state and federal levels.

Additionally, Wyoming statutes mandate purchasing errors and omissions insurance before applying. You cannot work as a licensed salesperson without this professional liability coverage.

To get an active license, you must also affiliate with a Responsible Broker. To make your choice easier and more informed, we’ve compiled an expert guide on how to pick a broker to work for.


Wyoming Real Estate License Requirements for Brokers

To be eligible for converting from a salesperson to a broker license, you must have experience in the business.

The specific requirement is that you have actively worked in real estate for at least two of the past four immediately preceding years.

You can substitute academic education for work experience. To do so, you’ll need to hold a real estate degree from an accredited college or university and submit official transcripts.

Given that one of these two scenarios applies to you, you can proceed to satisfy the remaining requirements.

One is getting fingerprinted and completing a background check. The Commission will put your application on hold until that’s done, so the sooner you submit fingerprint cards, the better.

Also, as it is for salesperson candidates, approved pre-licensing education is one of the qualifiers for becoming a Wyoming real estate broker.

There are three courses for associate broker applicants: Broker I, Broker II, and Wyoming Law.

Those seeking a responsible broker license must also take an 8-hour Broker Management Course. That takes total class time to 80 hours.

Together, these courses refresh you on real estate principles, practices, statutes, and regulations to help you prepare for the exam.

To successfully pass the broker exam, you must earn a minimum scaled score of 75 on both the national and state portions.

After testing successfully on the exam, you can apply for your license. A must-do with that is submitting proof that you’re covered by errors and omissions insurance.

You must also submit a company application if you are opening your own brokerage.


Reciprocal States

What Is Real Estate License Reciprocity?

Most US states accept some or all of the qualifications of agents and brokers from specified other states when granting a real estate license.

Commonly known as license reciprocity, this process provides a streamlined path for licensure. The rules and waived requirements vary from state to state.

As for how to get your real estate license in Wyoming through reciprocity, you can skip some of the pre-licensing courses and the national part of the exam.

What is required? First, you need to hold an active license in your home state.

Given that, you then must meet the following requirements:

  • Be fingerprinted and pass the background check
  • Complete the Wyoming Law course
  • Complete the Salesperson II or Broker II course
  • Pass the state-specific portion of the exam

If you are applying for a Responsible Broker license, which allows you to supervise other licensees, you’ll also have to take the Broker Management Course.


Wyoming Real Estate License Reciprocity with Other US States

Wyoming does not have direct reciprocity with any state. However, having an active license in another jurisdiction will exempt you from some requirements.


How to Study for a Real Estate License Exam in Wyoming?

Pre-Licensing Classroom Courses

You can complete your pre-licensing education as a virtual classroom student. Or, if the location is convenient, you can attend class at a brick-and-mortar real estate school in Wyoming.

The presence of an instructor allows you to clarify concepts and get feedback immediately, creating a deeper learning experience.

Live instruction also promotes active learning as you engage in class activities and exchange ideas.

However, studying in a classroom can be more expensive than completing coursework online. The fixed schedule can also be an issue if classes are unavailable at your ideal time.

Furthermore, students have limited flexibility regarding learning pace.


Pre-Licensing Online Courses

You can readily find online pre-licensing courses, which the Commission allows you to take as long as you enroll with a state-approved provider.

One of the more appealing benefits is the freedom to choose where and when to study. You can also speed up or slow down your pace based on your needs at the time.

That flexibility comes with trade-offs, though. For instance, if you’re a social learner, studying online can put you at a disadvantage. You will also have more responsibility for staying on track.

Distractions can also be a problem. More things vie for your attention when studying remotely than in a structured classroom.

If you can’t decide which format to choose, refer to our A-to-Z guide comparing the pros and cons of online real estate classes vs classroom courses.


Where to Take the Real Estate Exam in Wyoming

Pearson VUE has designated test centers in the following Wyoming cities for those taking the exam in person.

  • Casper (2)
  • Cheyenne
  • Evanston
  • Gillette
  • Laramie
  • Mountain View
  • Rawlins
  • Riverton
  • Sheridan
  • Torrington

As for the topics covered in the test, you can refer to our article on how hard the Wyoming real estate exam is which also provides information on the passing score, pass rate, and what you need to do if you fail the test.

Additionally, make sure to read our tips to help you pass the real estate exam the first time.


How to File for Your License After the Exam in Wyoming

When you pass the exam, you’ll receive instructions for applying and have 90 days to do it.

You can mail or email your completed application to the Commission, along with the license fee and supporting documentation, including the following:

  • Passing exam score report(s)
  • Proof of pre-licensing education
  • Errors and Omissions Insurance certificate
  • Recent close-up snapshot of yourself
  • Fingerprint cards and background check fee

How to Receive Your Real Estate License in Wyoming

Your license is emailed to you and your Responsible Broker (if issued as active) as soon as the Commission grants it.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does it take to get a Wyoming real estate license when studying in the class?

The three pre-licensing courses take about two weeks to complete in a classroom. If you add an exam prep course to the list, anticipate spending two more on that.

The timeline for getting an exam reservation depends on appointment availability. Your wait time could range from a few days to a week or more.

The time required for the background check also varies. It’s usually ready in two weeks, but that can stretch to six-plus weeks. The length of the screening can impact application processing.

Give yourself a week or two to find a supervising broker and up to a week to shop for errors and omissions insurance if you are not purchasing a policy with the state-contracted provider.


How long does it take to get a Wyoming real estate license online?

An online course requires nine days with a work-week effort. How much longer you’ll need for part-time study depends on how many hours you have available weekly.

Time commitments for other steps to complete the licensing process include the following:

  • A week or longer for an exam appointment
  • Two weeks or more for the background check
  • At least two weeks for broker selection

Refer to our article discussing estimated timelines to complete the licensing process, including the deadline for Wyoming real estate license renewals.


Is there a background check for a Wyoming real estate license?

All applicants are required to have a background check performed, and being fingerprinted begins that process.

Your prints are checked for a match against the criminal databases for the FBI, Wyoming, and the seven other Western Identification Network states (AK, MT, OR, WA, ID, NV, UT).

We discuss this topic in detail in our article on background check for a Wyoming real estate license.


How much does a Wyoming real estate license cost?

The first cost to consider is for pre-licensing education. Budget at least $700 for all courses needed. Increase that amount by about $100 if you also want to take an exam prep course.

Exam registration is $80 per portion when you take the test onsite. You’ll pay $10 more for each part if you take it online.

Other costs include the following:

  • License Fee: $300
  • Background Check: $39
  • Errors and Omissions Insurance: $225

We break down all licensing-related fees in our guide on the topic — How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Wyoming?


How long do you have to wait to retake the real estate exam in Wyoming?

You cannot make a retake appointment the day you fail the exam. The earliest you can contact Pearson VUE to schedule is 24 hours later.

The timing for your retest appointment will depend on when a test slot or a remote proctor is available. You’re at liberty to reserve the first date that fits your calendar.


How many times can you retake the Wyoming real estate exam?

Wyoming does not cap the number of retakes you can get if you fail the exam. However, a time limit applies if you pass only one portion.

The rules say you must pass the failed part within six months of passing the first portion. If you don’t meet that deadline, you will have to retake the entire exam.

Anytime within that six-month limit, only the part you failed needs to be retaken.


Do you have to pay to retake the real estate exam in Wyoming?

The exam fee covers one testing attempt. Each retest requires paying $80 or $90, depending on how you take the test.


How much does it cost to retake the real estate exam in Wyoming?

Retaking the exam at a Pearson VUE test center costs $80 per portion, increasing to $90 for retakes online.


Can you get a real estate license with a felony in Wyoming?

You can be licensed in Wyoming even if you’re a felon. However, the Commission will only consider your application after the mandatory wait period.

Twelve months must have passed since you completed all requirements related to your conviction, including sentencing, parole, and probation.

Once that’s met, the Commission will review your application individually to determine if you qualify for a license.

Felony convictions that can dim your prospects of being licensed are ones for sexual or violent crimes or offenses that relate to your ability to practice real estate responsibly.


Can you get a real estate license with a misdemeanor in Wyoming?

As the Commission evaluates applicants on a case-by-case basis, you will not be automatically ineligible for a license.

Instead, you get to apply and present your case to prove that, despite your past, you meet the standards for honesty, trustworthiness, and good reputation.

If you do, you’ll obtain a license. However, if your prior criminal acts indicate the opposite and rehabilitation evidence is unconvincing, your conviction will usually lead to an adverse decision.


Will a DUI prevent you from getting a real estate license in Wyoming?

Although you can get a real estate license if you have a DUI, you may have to wait to apply.

Four DUI convictions within ten years result in a felony in Wyoming. So do those involving serious bodily injury or death.

So, you won’t be eligible to apply until twelve months after finishing all sentencing requirements.

You don’t have to wait if you have a misdemeanor conviction. Either way, the Commission will review the particulars of your case and decide on licensure.


Can I get a real estate license without a high school diploma in Wyoming?

The Commission does not require you to have graduated high school or earned a GED certificate to be eligible to become a real estate agent in Wyoming.


You can use the information in this article to make a plan and successfully steer through the steps in the licensing process.

As you wait for your license approval, you can use the time to create an action plan detailing what to do after passing the real estate exam.

You should also equip yourself with useful knowledge that can help you build a successful real estate business in the state. These resources are a must-read:

Achieving your highest level of success as a licensed real estate professional entails taking advantage of the right marketing tools that will allow you to gain credibility with potential clients, generate qualified leads, and facilitate client reviews and ratings.

To help you build and grow your real estate career quickly, we at Real Estate Bees created a directory for real estate professionals.

It’s designed to help you get more exposure for your business, including receiving leads. Create a free profile by signing up here.


If you want to contribute your expert advice on a topic of your expertise, feel free to apply to our Expert Contributor Program.


About the Author

Kristina Morales is both a licensed mortgage loan originator and real estate agent in the State of Ohio. Inspired by her years of working with buyers and sellers and seeing a need for more consumer education, Kristina created loanfully.com, an online educational resource for borrowers and industry professionals. In addition to real estate sales and mortgage lending, Kristina had an extensive corporate career in banking, treasury, and corporate finance. She ended her corporate career as an Assistant Treasurer at a publicly traded oil & gas company in Houston, TX. Kristina obtained her MBA from the Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University and her B.A in Business Management from Ursuline College.

Never Miss a Post
Congrats! You’ve subscribed successfully!
Recent Posts
13 Best Ways How to Find Foreclosures to Get a List of Bank-Owned Properties in Kansas (Free & Paid Methods)
5 Best Property Management CRM Software System Reviews
Minnesota Real Estate Closing Costs Statistics (2024 Survey)
Popular Posts
How Hard Is It to Pass the New York Real Estate Exam for the First Time in 2024?
How Hard Is the California Real Estate Exam and How to Pass It the First Time?
How to Pass Oklahoma Real Estate Exam the First Time in 2024?
Our Partners