How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Utah?
This article will help you accurately budget when you get your real estate license in the state of Utah.
We break down the costs for each step of the licensing process — from real estate school to application submission.
You will also get details on the renewal expenses associated with keeping your license.
How much is a real estate license in Utah? Here are the fees and other costs you can expect to cover.
Earning Your Initial License
Pre-Licensing Education: $400+ for Salesperson; $550+ for Broker
Utah requires a 120-hour pre-licensing course that should be taken at pre-license schools certified by the Division of Real Estate.
The course covers a state-specified curriculum for real estate fundamentals, including Utah and national real estate law.
Your cost to enroll will vary based on the school you choose. If you are aiming for a salesperson license, you can look to pay $400 to $600 whether you take the course in a traditional classroom or online.
Compare which method is preferable for you by reading our A-to-Z guide on real estate classes online vs. classroom courses.
Aspiring brokers also have 120 hours of pre-licensing education to complete. That coursework consists of three parts taught in a single course:
- Utah Law (30 hours)
- Broker Fundamentals (45 hours)
- Broker Practices (45 hours)
You can find the broker course starting at around $550, going up to the $700 mark. Costs for classroom and online delivery formats are also comparable.
Exam Prep Program: $50+
It’s up to you to decide whether you want to take advantage of learning tools that help you pass the exam. If you do, your cost will depend on how you enroll.
If you bundle exam prep with your pre-licensing course, plan for a $50 to $100 add-on cost. Be prepared for a $75 to $125 registration fee if you sign up for a separate class.
The $125 price tag typically covers prep for both the national and Utah-specific portions of the licensing exam. Focusing on one of them generally costs $75.
Licensing Exam Registration: $59
To get a sales agent or broker license, you must pass the corresponding exam. You’re required to pre-register and schedule with Pearson VUE, the company that proctors the exam.
The registration fee is $59, no matter which exam you take. That amount applies the first time you sit for the test and for subsequent retakes.
Costs for the exam can add up quickly if you have to repeat it. So, you’ll want to prepare effectively. See our article on how to pass the Utah real estate exam for helpful pointers.
We also have great tips on how to study for the real estate exam.
Also, thoroughly review Pearson VUE’s Candidate Handbook. It contains exam content outlines that are invaluable to your preparation efforts.
Application and Recovery Fund: $112 for Salesperson; $118 for Broker
You’re ready to apply for your license as soon as you pass the exam. In addition to submitting the application and other required paperwork, you also have to pay specific fees.
The license application and recovery fund fees are two of them. Sales agents pay $112, and the amount for broker applicants is $118. Those amounts break down as follows:
- Application fee: $100 for either license
- Recovery fund fee: $12 for sales agents; $18 for brokers
The application fee is a one-time fixed expense. The Division of Real Estate has the authority to assess the recovery fund fee for new applications and renewals.
That fund exists primarily to compensate victims who have incurred damages from deception on the part of a real estate licensee. Fees collected support payouts.
Fingerprinting and Rap Back Fees: $45+
Utah requires new applicants for real estate licenses to undergo a fingerprint-based background check and enroll in RAP Back, an FBI criminal and arrest records notification program.
Through RAP Back, the FBI regularly cross-checks the fingerprints of enrollees and notifies the Utah Division of Real Estate if licensees are arrested or otherwise flagged with criminal activity.
Know if your criminal history may prevent you from obtaining a license by reading our article on getting a Utah real estate license with violations.
The enrollment fee for this program is $5 for either license type. This must be paid when your application is submitted. You stay enrolled as long as you keep your license and renew on time.
A $40 fingerprint processing fee is also due at the time of application to initiate the background check. However, third-party fees may also apply, depending on where you get fingerprinted.
The exam administrator Pearson VUE offers digital fingerprinting at several of their test centers in Utah. You must make an advance appointment, and there’s a $12 fee.
You can also obtain fingerprint cards and have a local law enforcement agency or another private vendor perform the fingerprinting.
Maintaining an Active License
New Agent Education: $120-$200
As you calculate how much a real estate license in Utah will cost, you’ll need to consider renewal expenses to continue learning and growing and remain active in the profession.
For instance, Utah real estate agents who are renewing for the first time since getting their license are required to complete 18 hours of specific education.
The classwork includes a 12-hour New Agent Course, a Division-approved 3-hour mandatory course, and three hours on any core or elective topic.
Online package deals for 18 hours are most commonly priced at $150. However, when you enroll in courses separately, you’ll pay more.
Continuing Education: $120-$210 for Every Renewal Cycle
After your first renewal as a new agent, you must complete at least 18 hours of continuing education every two years to maintain active status.
Brokers must meet the 18-hour CE requirement from their first renewal forward.
These hours can be a combination of core and elective courses as long as you meet the following requirements:
- Nine of the 18 hours have to be on core topics.
- Three of the nine hours must be a mandatory course.
Like new agent packages, 18-hour CE bundles hover around $150. You’ll pay that and more if you combine six or nine-hour packages, or take individual courses.
License Renewal: $60+ for Salesperson; $66+ for Broker
Sales agent and broker licenses are valid for two years and must be renewed before midnight on the licensee’s expiration date.
If you’re an agent and pay on time, you’ll owe $60. Brokers pay slightly more at $66.
However, you’ll incur other costs besides the renewal fee if you miss your deadline. Your total depends on how much time has passed since then.
- If you pay up within 30 days of your expiration date, you’ll only have to add a $50 late fee to the cost of your renewal. That’s assuming you’ve already completed your CE.
- Thirty-one days to 12 months out, you must reinstate your license. That costs $100 more. Plus, a $15 activation fee applies.
- You’ll also have extra CE costs once you pass the 31-day mark. Six more hours are tacked on within the 6-month window. Push it out to a year, and you’ll need to add 24.
The additional CE could run from about $180 to $300, varying by how many hours you need to complete and whether you take separate courses or purchase a reinstatement CE bundle.
How to Reduce Real Estate License Education Costs
Every dollar you save on the price of education is one that you can invest in other expenses associated with your real estate business. So how can you cut costs in this area?
Here are five things you could do:
- Look out for promo codes. It’s commonplace for schools to offer promotional discounts. With that, you can typically save 10-25 percent off the regular course price.
- Pay a package price. If you’re willing to trade off flexibility in what CE courses you take, you can score savings by purchasing a bundle with pre-selected offerings.
- Take free courses. You can take CE courses for free as a member of a local Realtors association. Also, scout out real estate agent schools in Utah that offer free tuition for meeting specific obligations.
- Offset expenses through a tax deduction. CE is required to maintain your license. So, it’s normally tax deductible. Check with an accounting professional on the write-off.
- Meet the licensing deadline. You have 90 days after passing the exam to apply for your license. If you fail to meet that deadline, you must retake the pre-licensing course.
Hopefully, this article will help you develop a game plan for handling licensing costs. With this information, it should be easier to put a targeted budget in place.
For more detailed information on the licensing process, read our guide on getting a real estate license in Utah.
To know how much time you should devote in each step of the licensing process, our article on how long it takes to get a Utah real estate license is a good resource.
Once you get your license, it helps to be fully prepared for the challenges that you will encounter as a Utah real estate agent.
You can start by knowing the pros and cons of being a real estate agent to walk you through the life of being a realtor.
You should also develop an action plan on what to do next after passing your real estate exam.
Don’t forget to pick a broker to work for. Being sponsored by a licensed broker is essential to activate your license. You can choose from our directory of top real estate brokerages in Utah.
It’s important as well to join a real estate team to meet experienced agents to guide your career.
To help you build and grow your real estate career quickly, we at Real Estate Bees created a directory for real estate professionals.
It’s designed to help you get more exposure for your business, including receiving leads. Create a free profile by signing up here.
If you want to contribute your expert advice on a topic of your expertise, feel free to apply to our Expert Contributor Program.
About the Author
Kristina Morales is a REALTOR® with over 20 years of professional experience. She actively practices real estate in Ohio but also has practiced real estate in California and Texas. Conducting her real estate business in three states has allowed her to gain unique experiences that make her a well-rounded realtor. She obtained her Bachelor of Arts in Business Management and her MBA with a concentration in Banking and Finance. Prior to real estate, Kristina had an extensive corporate career in banking and treasury. She ended her finance career as an Assistant Treasurer at a publicly traded oil & gas company in Houston, TX.